Bruno crowned Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year

Thursday 23 May 2024 15:00

Manchester United captain Bruno Fernandes is the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year for 2023/24, as presented by adidas.

Our no.8 has finished the season strongly, despite picking up a rare injury, and been a major influence for Erik ten Hag's men throughout the campaign.

For the second year running, he created more chances than any other player in the Premier League and was joint-top scorer in the division for the Reds, alongside Rasmus Hojlund.

The Portugal international has netted 15 times in all competitions, one behind Hojlund on 16, and posted eight assists in the league - at least double that of any of his colleagues.

Bruno Fernandes poses with the trophy at Carrington on Thursday.

Fernandes also enjoyed the hottest streak of his United career to date, getting on the scoresheet in five consecutive fixtures, culminating with a double in the win over Sheffield United last month.

He has twice been named Player of the Month this term - in August and April - and was also nominated on three other occasions.

The Man of the Match in our Emirates FA Cup semi-final shootout victory against Coventry City, when he scored in a third game during the cup run, he will look to lead the Reds out at Wembley again, in a bid to finish the season on a high by beating Manchester City on Saturday.

The fans elected Bruno as a clear winner, picking up 40 per cent of the vote to emphasise how popular he is among supporters.

Our Portuguese magnifico's closest challenger was his fellow countryman, Diogo Dalot, who polled 20 per cent, in recognition of his excellent consistency since August.

The next two players in the voting were Academy youngsters, team-mates in the 2022 FA Youth Cup-winning side. Kobbie Mainoo finished in third spot, with Alejandro Garnacho fourth.

Relive Bruno Fernandes's brilliant goal against Liverpool in the FA Cup.

This is the third time that our skipper has picked up the prestigious trophy, since joining the Reds from Sporting Club in 2020.

After only half a season with the Reds, he was victorious in that debut season and also the following campaign, 2020/21. The 29-year-old was also runner-up last year, behind Marcus Rashford.

As a three-time winner, only two men have picked up the annual accolade more often, David De Gea and Cristiano Ronaldo (both four).

Thanks to everybody who voted and congratulations to Bruno from all at United!

All of our Player of the Year winners


It's the most prestigious prize a Red can win and our list of previous recipients is iconic, as you can see here...


4: David De Gea, Cristiano Ronaldo
3: Bruno Fernandes
2: Eric Cantona, Brian McClair, Roy Keane, Wayne Rooney, Ruud van Nistelrooy


2018/19: Luke Shaw 
2019/20: Bruno Fernandes 
2020/21: Bruno Fernandes  
2021/22: Cristiano Ronaldo
2022/23: Marcus Rashford
2023/24: Bruno Fernandes