Ole Gunnar Solskjaer arrives at the Emirates Stadium

Who has Ole picked to face Arsenal?

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has named his first team of 2020, as Manchester United take on Arsenal in the Premier League.

The United boss has made three changes to the team that beat Burnley at the weekend, with Luke Shaw, Aaron Wan-Bissaka and Jesse Lingard all returning to the starting XI at the Emirates Stadium.

Wan-Bissaka and Shaw were both rested in the full-back positions in the 2-0 win at Turf Moor on Saturday and come back into the side in place of Ashley Young and Brandon Williams, who are named among the substitutes. Making up the rest of the backline are captain Harry Maguire and Victor Lindelof, with David De Gea in goal.

Ole's pre-match interviewVideo

Lingard, who replaces birthday boy Andreas Pereira, has scored three goals in his last two starts at the Emirates; he joins an in-form attack of Daniel James, Anthony Martial and our Player of the Month for December, Marcus Rashford.

Speaking to MUTV in the tunnel before the game, Ole discussed his team selection and the absence of Paul Pogba: “There are loads of games. We put some hard work in on Saturday night but the two full-backs are rested and Jesse's rested so we should be ready to go.

”Jesse had a difficult year last year. We know there's reason behind that and hopefully he'll have a better 2020. That might start tonight.

“[Pogba]'s injured. He's feeling some discomfort in his ankle. He'll be out for a few weeks.”

Victory for the Reds would move us to within two points of fourth-placed Chelsea who were held to a 1-1 draw by Brighton earlier. Just below United in the Premier League table are Tottenham and Wolves who lost their first matches of 2020, to Southampton and Watford respectively.


United: De Gea, Wan-Bissaka, Lindelof, Maguire (captain), Shaw, Fred, Matic, James, Lingard, Rashford, Martial.

Substitutes: Romero, Jones, Young, Williams, Mata, Andreas, Greenwood.

Arsenal: Leno, Maitland-Niles, Sokratis, David Luiz, Kolasinac, Torreira, Xhaka, Ozil, Pepe, Lacazette, Aubameyang. 

Martinez, Holding, Ceballos, Willock, Guendouzi, Nelson, Saka.