Dalot wins Players' Player of the Year for 2023/24

Thursday 23 May 2024 16:00

Manchester United's first-team squad have voted Diogo Dalot as the Players' Player of the Year for the 2023/24 season.

In a challenging campaign, the Portuguese defender has been a ray of light, and found personal consistency despite our fluctuating results.

Dalot's technical ability has been clear since he joined the club from Porto in June 2018, at the age of just 19, but this term has been allied to a growing physical robustness.

In an injury affected season for the squad, no outfield player has bettered Diogo's 49 appearances to date, and his fluency on both flanks has been a real boon for Erik ten Hag.

Dalot: I think I've shown consistency


In the first excerpts from an exclusive interview, Diogo explains how he's managed to improve during a difficult season.

Asked what it would mean to him to be honoured with an award from his colleagues, Dalot told us last week:

"For me, it’s even more special [than the main award]. I have a lot of consideration for the fans; they are a big part of me and the biggest part of this club.
"But my team-mates are the ones who see each other every single day. We have to come here and we still have to fight, and we still have to share these moments when things are not going well, and when the things are going well.

"This, ultimately, is my second family and this recognition by your team-mates, I think it’s really special, because they see you every day, they know the work that you put in behind the scenes."
Dalot's solidity (and availability) might be the thing most prized by his manager and United fans everywhere, but the p.layer has also delivered some thrilling moments across the season.

He scored a marvellous David Beckham-esque winner at Sheffield United in October, to earn the Reds three points on the day we mourned the loss of Sir Bobby Charlton, and also started our march to Saturday's Emirates FA Cup final, by opening the scoring in our third-round tie at Wigan Athletic in January.

Other highlights include a heroic block to deny West Ham's Jarrod Bowen what looked like a certain goal at Old Trafford, and a sublime cross for Scott McTominay's late winner at Aston Villa.
You shall not pass Dalot Video

You shall not pass Dalot

Player highlights | Diogo Dalot is his name, and making brilliant blocks is his game...

Perhaps his best all-round performance came in the earth-shaking 4-3 win over Liverpool in the Emirates FA Cup, when he was brilliant in both attack and defence across 120 sapping minutes.

The player picked out the match as his favourite from the season when we spoke to him recently.

"As soon as the game finished, I saw people crying at the stadium," he marvelled. "That makes you feel special, just to be a part of it and know that you made a little bit of part of that day for them. That makes us feel special sometimes."

Congratulations on your award and an excellent season, Diogo. 
Diogo Dalot was presented with his trophy at Carrington.

2005/06: Ryan Giggs
2006/07: Cristiano Ronaldo
2007/08: Cristiano Ronaldo
2008/09: Nemanja Vidic
2009/10: Wayne Rooney
2010/11: Nani
2011/12: Antonio Valencia
2012/13: Michael Carrick
2013/14: David De Gea
2014/15: David De Gea
2015/16: Chris Smalling
2016/17: Antonio Valencia
2017/18: David De Gea
2018/19: Luke Shaw
2019/20: Anthony Martial
2020/21: Luke Shaw
2021/22: David De Gea
2022/23: Marcus Rashford
2023/24: Diogo Dalot