Erik ten Hag

Why Maguire missed the Spurs game

Thursday 27 April 2023 19:50

Manchester United manager Erik ten Hag has shed some light on his team selection away to Tottenham Hotspur this evening.

Luke Shaw will partner Victor Lindelof at centre-back, just as he did in the Emirates FA Cup semi-final win over Brighton & Hove Albion when Lisandro Martinez and Raphael Varane were both injured while Harry Maguire was suspended. 

Our club captain misses out again this evening but this time it's due to an injury he picked up in training. 

“[It is a] training injury,” Ten Hag told MUTV. “It's a training injury. But we have proved we can sort it out. And I'm convinced we can do it today as well.”
Ten Hag: We had to change the team a bit Video

Ten Hag: We had to change the team a bit

Erik explains why Sancho is in for Martial and gives the reason for Maguire's absence from the squad...

The boss’s sole change from last weekend’s win against Brighton sees Jadon Sancho come in for Anthony Martial up top. 

“We have to manage his [Martial’s] load,” Ten Hag explained. “That’s one thing. Another thing is Jadon is doing very well, Martial is also doing well, but we have to choose and can choose from a tactical perspective. 

“So for today, we make this choice, but Sunday we can do different – with the number of games we have to play and [games] we have in our legs already, we have to rotate a bit."
Despite being an initial doubt, Bruno Fernandes is again named in the middle of the park, captaining the side in the capital. 

“Of course he’s ready,” the boss said, when asked about Bruno’s inclusion. 

“It is Bruno Fernandes and he’s tough. He takes responsibility, he wants to play and of course we’re happy he’s there because he’s a massive player for us who has a big impact in every game. 

“He’s our captain, so we are really happy.”
Since joining, Bruno is yet to miss a game for United through injury.

Spurs XI: Forster; Porro, Romero, Dier, Lenglet, Perisic; Skipp, Hojbjerg; Richarlison, Kane, Son. 

Substitutes: Austin, Sanchez, Danjuma, Kulusevski, Tanganga, Moura, Sarr, Davies, Mundle. 

United XI: De Gea; Wan-Bissaka, Lindelof, Shaw, Dalot; Casemiro, Eriksen; Antony, Fernandes (c), Sancho; Rashford.

Substitutes: Butland, Martial, Malacia, Sabitzer, Fred, Weghorst, Pellistri, Williams, Elanga.