Ten Hag names first line-up as United boss

Tuesday 12 July 2022 12:30

Every pre-season game - starting with United v Liverpool (14:00 BST today) - will be shown live on MUTV, now available in our app and on ManUtd.com.

Manchester United boss Erik ten Hag has named his first starting XI as our new manager, as we prepare to take on Liverpool in our opening pre-season friendly.

After arriving in Bangkok last Saturday, the Dutchman and his squad have been working hard on the training pitch with preparations firmly in progress for the start of the 2022/23 campaign. 

Jurgen Klopp's side are today's opponents, and will no doubt present a challenging test, given their strong season under the German's stewardship last year.

Kick-off is scheduled for 14:00 BST at the Rajamangala Stadium and you can watch an hour of build-up, plus the full game, exclusively live on MUTV.

Ten Hag will be bidding to start his tenure as Reds boss with a win, given our fierce rivalry with the Merseysiders across the decades.

Club captain Harry Maguire will miss the encounter due to a slight knock he is currently working to overcome. The 29-year-old trained on his own yesterday away from the group. 

Given some of United's players returned late for pre-season, following a break delayed by their international games, the new manager will be hoping to get a first real look at his players, with a 50,000+ crowd expected at the Rajamangala Stadium. 

Bruno impressed by Erik's intensity


Fernandes now has a week's experience of working with our new manager under his belt.


United: De Gea; Dalot, Lindelof, Varane, Shaw; McTominay, Fred; Sancho, Fernandes, Rashford; Martial.

Substitutes: Heaton, Bailly, Laird, Malacia, Telles, Wan-Bissaka, Amad, Hannibal, Iqbal, Pellistri, Savage, van de Beek, Chong, Elanga, Garnacho.

Liverpool: Allison; Mabaya, Phillips, Gomez, Chambers; Henderson, Morton; Carvalho, Elliott, Diaz; Firmino.

Substitutes: Adrian, Mrozek, Davies, Fabinho, van Dijk, Konate, Thiago, Milner, Keita, Salah, Oxalde-Chamberlain, Jones, Tsimikas, Robertson, Nunez, Matip, Bajcetic, Williams, Clark, Clarkson, Alexander-Arnold, van der Berg, Norris, Hill, Frauendorf.