United Players' Player of the Year award winners

Friday 03 June 2022 12:00

Manchester United’s Players’ Player of the Year award has been running since 2006, when Ryan Giggs was recognised by his team-mates.

Now into its 17th year, the prize runs concurrently with the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year, voted for by United supporters.

After Giggs’s win, the next four seasons saw Cristiano Ronaldo (twice), Nemanja Vidic and Wayne Rooney claim both accolades, while Antonio Valencia also ‘did the double’ at the end of the 2011/12 campaign – with Nani and Michael Carrick acknowledge by their peers in 2011 and 2013 respectively, after playing significant roles in our last two Premier League title wins.

David De Gea emulated Ronaldo in claiming the players’ award in two successive seasons, in 2014 and 2015, and the Spaniard has won this particular vote more than any other Red, adding a third win to his extended list of career achievements, in 2018 and now a fourth in 2022.

Luke Shaw saw off stiff competition from Victor Lindelof  in 2019 to complete his own awards double for the 2018/19 season.

Shaw was the third defender in four years to win, after Chris Smalling (2015/16) and Valencia again (2016/17).

Anthony Martial was recognised following a superb 2019/20 season, followed by Shaw again in 2020/21. 

Players’ Player of the Year

2005/06: Ryan Giggs 
2006/07: Cristiano Ronaldo 
2007/08: Cristiano Ronaldo 
2008/09: Nemanja Vidic 
2009/10: Wayne Rooney 
2010/11: Nani 
2011/12: Antonio Valencia 
2012/13: Michael Carrick 
2013/14: David De Gea 
2014/15: David De Gea 
2015/16: Chris Smalling 
2016/17: Antonio Valencia 
2017/18: David De Gea 
2018/19: Luke Shaw
2019/20: Anthony Martial
2020/21: Luke Shaw
2021/22: David De Gea