FA Cup trophy

FA Cup: When is the fourth-round draw?

Monday 11 January 2021 10:00

Manchester United's next opponents in the Emirates FA Cup will be confirmed on Monday evening, when the draw is made for the fourth and fifth rounds.

The Reds will be represented by ball number 8, after beating Watford 1-0 in the third round at Old Trafford with an early goal from Scott McTominay.

In a move designed to help clubs plan ahead in what is a condensed season due to the coronavirus pandemic, Monday night’s procedure will also determine United's potential opponents in the fifth round.

The draws are being held ahead of non-league Stockport County’s home tie against West Ham United, with live TV coverage beginning at 19:10 GMT on BT Sport and the FA Cup’s official social media channels. The Reds' fourth-round fixture will be announced as soon as possible on ManUtd.com and in our Official App.

Once the fourth-round draw has been made, for matches taking place over the weekend of 23 and 24 January, the ball numbers for the fifth round will be generated. The fifth-round games will be played in the midweek of Wednesday 10 February.

Among the sides joining the Reds in the last 32 are the non-league club Chorley, after the sixth-tier side from Lancashire overcame Derby County 2-0; with their squad depleted by positive coronavirus tests, the Rams handed out senior debuts to nine of their starting XI.

Another non-league outfit, Boreham Wood, didn’t have the same success however, as they were defeated 2-0 by Millwall at home.

Elsewhere, League One side Blackpool knocked out Premier League team West Bromwich on penalties, after the match at Bloomfield Road had finished 2-2 after extra-time and there were strong wins for Leicester City, Bournemouth and Wycombe Wanderers – all of whom scored four goals in their respective victories.

On Sunday, Crawley Town pulled off perhaps the shock of the round by dumping out Leeds United, while Marine's fairytale run was ended as they were beaten 5-0 by Tottenham Hotspur.

Fourth-round draw numbers:

1 Plymouth Argyle
2 Southampton or Shrewsbury Town*
3 Chorley
4 Tottenham Hotspur
5 Wolverhampton Wanderers
6 Stockport County or West Ham United
7 AFC Bournemouth
8 United
9 Swansea City
10 Everton
11 Nottingham Forest
12 Arsenal
13 Barnsley
14 Sheffield United
15 Millwall
16 Doncaster Rovers

Our cup story in 10 stats


Impress your friends with these nuggets from our illustrious FA Cup history.

17 Leicester City
18 Wycombe Wanderers
19 Crawley Town
20 Burnley
21 Bristol City
22 Fulham
23 Liverpool
24 Brentford
25 Manchester City
26 Luton Town
27 Chelsea
28 Sheffield Wednesday
29 Norwich City
30 Blackpool
31 Brighton & Hove Albion
32 Cheltenham Town

*Third-round tie postponed.