The FA Cup.

Confirmed FA Cup fixture news: United v Watford

Tuesday 08 December 2020 17:30

Manchester United’s Emirates FA Cup tie against Watford has officially been scheduled, after the third-round draw took place last week.

It has been confirmed today that Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s men will host the Hornets at Old Trafford on Saturday 9 January 2021 at 20:00 GMT, with the match set to be broadcast live on BT Sport in the UK.

If the match is even after 90 minutes then a period of extra time will take place, followed by a penalty shootout if required. There are no replays in the FA Cup this season, in order to ease some of the pressure on the football calendar that has been caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. 

United are determined to win the FA Cup this season after reaching the competition’s semi-finals in 2019/20, when the Reds were unfortunately beaten by Chelsea at Wembley Stadium.

United midfielder James Garner joined Watford on loan at the start of the season and he has made 15 appearances so far, earning praise from the Hornets supporters as he continues his development. 

In case you were wondering, the youngster cannot be involved against his parent club because there is an FA rule that stipulates: “The Association will not give permission for players on loan or work experience to play against the lending club.”

Huddersfield v Plymouth
Southampton v Shrewsbury
Chorley v Derby County
Marine v Tottenham Hotspur
Wolves v Crystal Palace
Stockport County v West Ham
Oldham Athletic v AFC Bournemouth
Manchester United v Watford
Stevenage v Swansea City
Everton v Rotherham
Nottingham Forest v Cardiff
Arsenal v Newcastle
Barnsley v Tranmere Rovers
Bristol Rovers v Sheffield United
Canvey Island or Boreham Wood v Millwall
Blackburn Rovers v Doncaster Rovers
Stoke City v Leicester City
Wycombe Wanderers v Preston North End
Crawley Town v Leeds United
Burnley v MK Dons
Bristol City v Portsmouth
QPR v Fulham
Aston Villa v Liverpool
Brentford v Middlesbrough
Manchester City v Birmingham City
Luton Town v Reading
Chelsea v Morecambe
Exeter City v Sheffield Wednesday
Norwich City v Coventry City
Blackpool v West Brom
Newport County v Brighton
Cheltenham Town v Mansfield Town