Ballon d'Or

Ballon d'Or 2021: Final results

Tuesday 30 November 2021 13:46

The evening of Monday 29 November saw football's most prestigious individual prize, the Ballon d'Or, awarded at a lavish ceremony in Paris.

It was the first time in two years that the accolade had been presented, with France Football - the organiser of the event - cancelling 2020's version due to the global COVID-19 pandemic.

Bayern Munich's prolific striker Robert Lewandowski was widely regarded as the best player last year and he was unlucky once again as he narrowly missed out to Paris Saint-Germain's Lionel Messi, with the Argentinian claiming a record-extending seventh trophy.

Messi was La Liga's top scorer during his final season with Barcelona and Player of the Tournament at the 2021 Copa America, where he helped bring Argentina's 28-year trophy drought to an end with a victory over rivals and hosts Brazil in the final.

Lionel Messi at the ceremony.

Jorginho - of Italy and Chelsea - completed the top three after a stellar year in which he won the Champions League and European Championship, but there was also United interest on the evening.

Cristiano Ronaldo, who has won the Ballon d'Or five times, including while a United player in 2008, finished sixth in the total voting, joining the aforementioned trio plus Karim Benzema, N'Golo Kante and Mohamed Salah in receiving over 100 votes from national coaches, captains and football journalists.

Ronaldo's compatriot Bruno Fernandes was recognised for the first time, as he finished joint-21st alongside Internazionale forward Lautaro Martinez.

Mason Greenwood turned 20 in 2021 and it's been a year to remember for our no.11 as he came fifth in the voting for the Kopa Trophy.

Awarded to the best performing player aged under 21, Barcelona's Pedri repeated his Golden Boy triumph, winning by 50 points from Borussia Dortmund midfielder Jude Bellingham.

Jamal Musiala and Nuno Mendes were third and fourth respectively, but Mason picked up 15 votes and can be proud after registering 19 goal involvements so far this calendar year.


29=Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)
29=Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
26=Gerard Moreno (Villarreal)
26=Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
26=Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan)
25. Phil Foden (Manchester City)
24. Pedri (Barcelona)
23. Harry Kane (Tottenham)
21=Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)
21=Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)
20. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)
19. Mason Mount (Chelsea)
18. Simon Kjaer (AC Milan)
17. Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid)
16. Neymar (PSG)
15. Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)
14. Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)
13. Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)
12. Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)
11. Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)
10. Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG)
9. Kylian Mbappe (PSG)
8. Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City
7. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
6. Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
5. N'Golo Kante (Chelsea)
4. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
3. Jorginho (Chelsea)
2. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
1. Lionel Messi (PSG)

Carrick stays in charge for Arsenal


Michael will be in the dugout against the Gunners as Ralf Rangnick awaits his work visa.


9=Jeremy Doku (Rennes)
9= Giovanni Reyna (Borussia Dortmund)
8. Ryan Gravenberch (Ajax)
7. Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen)
6. Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
5. Mason Greenwood (Manchester United)
4. Nuno Mendes (PSG)
3. Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)
2. Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund)
1. Pedri (Barcelona)