Mainoo and Shaw in England's Euro 2024 squad

Thursday 06 June 2024 17:30

Manchester United duo Kobbie Mainoo and Luke Shaw have been included in Gareth Southgate’s England squad for this summer’s European Championship.

The pair are among the 26 names that the Three Lions boss has picked for the tournament in Germany, which gets under way in just over a week’s time.

Fellow Red Harry Maguire was part of the provisional group with his aforementioned club colleagues but has not been selected, having been unable to overcome the calf injury that kept him sidelined for the final weeks of the season.

Maguire devastated to miss Euro 2024


Harry says he is returning to spend time with the United medical team after failing to recover from injury.

Mainoo’s inclusion means he will be going to his first major international tournament, following a breakout campaign for the Reds.

The 19-year-old midfielder became a regular in Erik ten Hag’s XI after his first Premier League start in November and was rewarded for his performances with a first senior England call-up in March.

Kobbie featured in both games of that camp – against Brazil and Belgium at Wembley Stadium – and has further strengthened his credentials since, with a strong finish to the term that included a Man-of-the-Match-winning performance in our FA Cup final success.
For Shaw, the Euros in Germany will be his fourth major tournament for England, exactly 10 years after his first – the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

The United full-back, like Maguire, was in a race against time to be fit for the competition, having been out of action since suffering a muscle injury in February.

Our no.23 reported for duty as part of the provisional squad recently, and appears to have proved his fitness to Southgate, as he bids to make a return.

England’s opening game is against Serbia in Gelsenkirchen on Sunday 16 June, with further Group C matches against Denmark (20 June) and Slovenia (25 June) to follow. 


Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace); Lewis Dunk (Brighton & Hove Albion), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (UNITED), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City); Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Kobbie Mainoo (UNITED), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Declan Rice (Arsenal), Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace); Jarrod Bowen (West Ham United), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle United), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa).