Luke Shaw with the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year trophy, standing alongside Ole Gunnar Solskjaer

Shaw wins Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award

Thursday 09 May 2019 23:02

Luke Shaw has been crowned the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year for 2018/19, adding to his Players’ Player of the Year award success.

The defender has won the coveted sculpture of Sir Matt for the first time in his United career at the end of his fifth campaign as a Red. Thousands of fans voted in the official app and Shaw came out on top. Victor Lindelof was second in the voting and Paul Pogba came third.

Luke follows in the footsteps of David De Gea, who has also won both awards in three of the last four seasons – including last season. Speaking about his double success, Shaw said on stage: "It’s obviously nice for me, but I’d rather win no [individual] trophies and have a better season as a team. We need to move on and focus now on next season and what’s to come.

“Ole has done an amazing job and of course we’ve had ups and downs but he’s obviously looking forward to getting us back in pre-season and getting his proper work done for next season. We’re all looking forward to starting fresh next season with him as the manager.”

Luke has consistently caught the eye in 2018/19.


Although it has been a difficult season overall for the Reds, Luke has been a standout performer and is undoubtedly a worthy winner of the award chosen by the fans.

He has won our Player of the Month award on three occasions – in August, September and March – in a campaign in which he’s made 40 appearances in all competitions ahead of this weekend's closing fixture against Cardiff City. That’s the highest tally he’s achieved in a single season in a United shirt to date, despite experiencing injury worries and being suspended for a period.

The 23-year-old was also voted our Man of the Match by fans in our goalless draw against Liverpool in February and 2-1 win over Watford in March.

Of course, Luke experienced a memorable start to 2018/19, scoring his first career goal in our opening game of the campaign – which proved to be the winner against Leicester City.

He has also set up four other goals for his team-mates: Marcus Rashford’s fine finishes against West Ham and Watford, Romelu Lukaku’s opening effort at Crystal Palace and Juan Mata’s strike against Chelsea.

Back in October, Luke signed a new contract which will keep him at the club until June 2023, with the option to extend for a further year. 

It’s arguably been his most consistent campaign since recovering from the horrific leg break he suffered against PSV Eindhoven in September 2015, and his impressive club form earned him a recall to the England squad.

Watch Luke's first goal for United, against Leicester City back in August.

After coming off stage, Shaw told MUTV presenters Andy Goldstein and Helen Evans: "It’s special to win the [Sir Matt Busby] award, especially as it comes from the fans.

“The fans have stuck by me through hard times and they’ve always believed in me and it’s nice to see that they still do now, voting for me to win the trophy.

“I’m proud to win both the awards tonight, but there’s much more to come from me personally. I really believe that.”


2017/18: David De Gea
2016/17: Ander Herrera
2015/16: David De Gea
2014/15: David De Gea
2013/14: David De Gea
2012/13: Robin van Persie
2011/12: Antonio Valencia
2010/11: Javier Hernandez
2009/10: Wayne Rooney
2008/09: Nemanja Vidic

Reading this in our app? If not, you might miss some exclusive features not found on Download the official app here.

Awards Night 2019 - The Winners