Erik ten Hag

Revealed: United's squad for Barcelona away

Wednesday 15 February 2023 14:47

Manchester United flew out to Barcelona on Wednesday afternoon with a 21-man squad for the first leg of the Europa League play-off tie at the Nou Camp.

Erik ten Hag and his players are back in European action after a three-month hiatus, and Xavi's La Liga leaders are the opposition.

The teams go head to head in Catalonia at 17:45 GMT on Thursday, with the return match taking place at Old Trafford seven days later.

Casemiro is part of the group travelling over to Spain, as the Brazilian is available for this fixture despite still being banned in domestic competition following his red card against Crystal Palace.

Lisandro Martinez and Marcel Sabitzer are suspended though, having each picked up three bookings in Europe before the turn of the year - Sabitzer's yellows carry over from his participation in the Champions League group stages with Bayern Munich.

Antony, Anthony Martial and Scott McTominay have not travelled, following their recent injury absences.

Christian Eriksen and Donny van de Beek are also not on the flight as they continue their rehabilitation from long-term injuries.

There is a rich seam of youth running through Ten Hag's selection and six of the 21 names have come through the club's Academy, including the in-form Marcus Rashford, who has netted 13 goals since the World Cup - more than any other forward in Europe's top five leagues.

Wout Weghorst will be hoping to make his European debut for the Reds, having been added to our list of registered players for the competition's knockout stages, alongside fellow January arrivals Sabitzer and goalkeeper Jack Butland.

The likes of Facundo Pellistri and Aaron Wan-Bissaka are also awaiting their first involvement in this season's Europa League.

Scroll down to see the squad in full...

Barcelona announce squad to face United


Our Europa League opponents have named 22 players who could face Erik ten Hag's men at the Nou Camp.


Goalkeepers: David De Gea, Tom Heaton, Jack Butland.

Defenders: Victor Lindelof, Harry Maguire, Tyrell Malacia, Raphael Varane, Diogo Dalot, Luke Shaw, Aaron Wan-Bissaka.

Midfielders: Bruno Fernandes, Fred, Casemiro, Facundo Pellistri, Zidane Iqbal, Kobbie Mainoo.

Forwards: Marcus Rashford, Jadon Sancho, Wout Weghorst, Anthony Elanga, Alejandro Garnacho.