Teden Mengi and Mason Greenwood.

Champions League: Five players on Reds' B-list

Monday 13 September 2021 11:00

Manchester United's Champions League squad for the 2021/22 group stage has been confirmed after the club added five names to the B-list of players.

Matej Kovar, Teden Mengi, Hannibal, Anthony Elanga and Mason Greenwood are the youngsters included, along with the main 25-man squad.

Players on the B-list must be born on or after 1 January 2000 and have been eligible to play for the club for any interrupted period of two years since his 15th birthday (by the time he is registered by UEFA), or three consecutive years with a maximum of one loan period to a club from the same association for a period not longer than one year.

Hence, Mason, despite being a first-team regular for some time, still qualifies in this regard.

Sixteen-year-olds can be submitted if registered with the club for the previous two years, without interruption, and an unlimited number of B-list players can be registered during the season but it must be confirmed no later than midnight the night before a game.

Summer signings Tom Heaton, Raphael Varane, Jadon Sancho and Cristiano Ronaldo are all in the main squad.

Please note, this is not the travelling party for the opening fixture against Young Boys in Switzerland, which will be announced separately.


David De Gea, Tom Heaton, Dean Henderson.

DEFENDERS: Eric Bailly, Diogo Dalot, Victor Lindelof, Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw, Alex Telles, Raphael Varane, Aaron Wan-Bissaka.

MIDFIELDERS: Amad, Bruno Fernandes, Fred, Jesse Lingard, Juan Mata, Nemanja Matic, Scott McTominay, Paul Pogba, Donny van de Beek.

FORWARDS: Edinson Cavani, Anthony Martial, Marcus Rashford, Cristiano Ronaldo, Jadon Sancho.


GOALKEEPER: Matej Kovar.

Teden Mengi.


FORWARDS: Anthony Elanga, Mason Greenwood.