Confirmed: United squad for Legends clash

Saturday 14 May 2022 07:00

A week today (Saturday 21 May), Old Trafford will host the Legends of the North match, as ex-players of Manchester United and Liverpool go head-to-head.

All proceeds from the game will go to Manchester United Foundation, and you can still secure your tickets for the big occasion at the Theatre of Dreams.

Legends matches at Old Trafford always attract plenty of attention, as it’s an opportunity for fans to see their heroes of yesteryear.

Our 1999 Champions League-winning side demolished Bayern Munich 5-0 in the last such fixture three years ago and we once again have an exciting squad line up for you.

Watch our wrap of the last Legends match: United 5 Bayern 0, from 2019.

Raimond van der Gouw returns in goal, with Kevin Pilkington also an option with the gloves and they'll be well-protected at the back, as eight United defensive legends have been confirmed as playing.

Wes Brown, Ronny Johnsen, Gary Neville, Mikael Silvestre and Jaap Stam all featured in the aforementioned Treble Reunion game and their significant quality has been added to with three more recent retirees.

Former United skippers Patrice Evra and Antonio Valencia should provide plenty of pace and power down the flanks, while John O’Shea knows all about scoring goals against Liverpool – and the famously versatile Irishman should be able to fit in wherever he’s required across the pitch!

In midfield, Class of '92 graduate Nicky Butt will offer bite and aggression, while Jesper Blomqvist and Karel Poborsky have plenty of experience in these Legends matches.

Quinton Fortune, who left the club in 2020 to pursue a coaching role with Reading, will also return to Old Trafford.

In attack, we’re looking forward to seeing the classy Dimitar Berbatov once more, while Danny Webber is returning after scoring in the Legends game versus Barcelona in 2017.

Louis Saha rounds off what looks like a formidable attacking group – good luck to manager Bryan Robson and assistant Andy Cole on selecting a starting XI from these names…

Goalkeeper: Kevin Pilkington, Raimond van der Gouw

Defenders: Wes Brown, Patrice Evra, Ronny Johnsen, Gary Neville, John O’Shea, Mikael Silvestre, Jaap Stam, Antonio Valencia

Midfielders: Jesper Blomqvist, Nicky Butt, Quinton Fortune, Karel Poborsky

Forwards: Dimitar Berbatov, Louis Saha, Danny Webber

Manager: Bryan Robson

Assistant manager: Andy Cole

Paul Scholes, Dwight Yorke and Diego Forlan were all named in the original squad but have unfortunately have to withdraw.

Access All Areas: FA Youth Cup final Video

Access All Areas: FA Youth Cup final

Transport yourself pitchside and relive our glorious Youth Cup final win at Old Trafford…