Ins and outs: United's summer 2023 transfers

Tuesday 05 September 2023 06:59

This is the place for you to keep track of Manchester United's transfer business during the summer window of 2023.

Our first signing of the transfer window was confirmed on 5 July, when England international Mason Mount officially put pen-to-paper after sealing his move from Chelsea. 

Goalkeeper Andre Onana joined from Internazionale on 20 July, after being the club's top choice to replace David De Gea.

Denmark striker Rasmus Hojlund was presented to the crowd at Old Trafford on 5 August, minutes before the Reds played Lens in the team's penultimate pre-season friendly.

Altay Bayindir signs for United


The goalkeeper becomes the first Turkish player to represent the Reds.

On transfer deadline day, 1 September, Turkey international goalkeeper Altay Bayindir arrived from Fenerbahce on a contract running until June 2027, with the option of a further year.

Spanish defender Sergio Reguilon then followed through the door, signing on a season-long loan deal from fellow Premier League club Tottenham Hotspur.

Jonny Evans initially agreed a short-term deal after training with the club, ahead of Tour 2023, before penning a one-year deal with the Reds as our third act of business on the final day of the window.

The fourth and final signing on deadline day was Sofyan Amrabat. The Morocco midfielder arrived on loan from Fiorentina, subject to international clearance and registration requirements.

A number of players have departed the club, including David De Geawho is set to embark on a new chapter elsewhere following a legendary 12-year career with the Reds.

After five years at the club, popular midfielder Fred left for Fenerbahce. He could face a former team-mate there, as Eric Bailly joined Besiktas a few days after transfer deadline day in England, with the Turkish window remaining open until 15 September.

Alex Telles finalised a permanent switch to Al-Nassr, soon after Charlie Savage joined Reading. A move was agreed for Anthony Elanga to transfer to Nottingham Forest in the same week that Will Fish returned to Hibernian, for a second successive season on loan with the Scottish outfit.

Zidane Iqbal and Bjorn Hardley completed permanent moves to Utrecht in the Netherlands, while Ethan Laird has signed for Birmingham City and Ethan Galbraith has been snapped up by Leyton Orient. Di'Shon Bernard signed for Sheffield Wednesday, with Nathan Bishop agreeing to join another Championship side in Sunderland.

Academy forward Manni Norkett has joined Nottingham Forest, while Czech goalkeepers Matej Kovar and Ondrej Mastny have moved to Bayer Leverkusen and FC Vysocina Jihlava respectively.

Two moves were announced on 24 August as Brandon Williams was loaned to Ipswich Town and Noam Emeran departed for Groningen. One week later, on the eve of the summer transfer deadline, Dean Henderson and Teden Mengi both completed permanent departures to Premier League clubs in Crystal Palace and Luton Town respectively.

Marc Jurado exited the club on deadline day, signing for La Liga outfit Espanyol and thus ended his three-year association with the Reds. Young striker Charlie McNeill will spend the rest of the 2023/24 campaign on loan at League One side Stevenage. 

Academy defender Logan Pye also departed, joining Burnley on a permanent deal. The final player to leave in the window was Alvaro Fernandez, who joined Granada in his native Spain for a season-long loan.


Altay Bayindir - Fenerbahce
Jonny Evans - Free agent
Rasmus Hojlund - Atalanta
Mason Mount - Chelsea
Andre Onana - Inter


Sofyan Amrabat - Fiorentina
Sergio Reguilon - Tottenham


Eric Bailly - Besiktas
Di'Shon Bernard - Sheffield Wednesday
Nathan Bishop - Sunderland
David De Gea - TBC
Anthony Elanga - Nottingham Forest
Noam Emeran - Groningen
Fred - Fenerbahce
Ethan Galbraith - Leyton Orient
Eric Hanbury - TBC
Bjorn Hardley - Utrecht
Dean Henderson - Crystal Palace
Zidane Iqbal - Utrecht
Phil Jones - TBC
Marc Jurado - Espanyol
Matej Kovar - Bayer Leverkusen
Ethan Laird - Birmingham City
Ondrej Mastny - FC Vysocina Jihlava
Teden Mengi - Luton Town
Manni Norkett - Nottingham Forest
Logan Pye - Burnley
Charlie Savage - Reading
Alex Telles - Al-Nassr
Axel Tuanzebe - Ipswich Town
Charlie Wellens - Reading


Will Fish - Hibernian
Mason Greenwood - Getafe
Charlie McNeill - Stevenage
Brandon Williams - Ipswich Town