Anthony Elanga and Ethan Galbraith. Photo credit: Presseye.

Under-23s fixtures released for 2019/20

The fixtures for the Premier League 2 season have been announced, and the dates for Manchester United's first games in the EFL Trophy have also been confirmed.

In the league, Neil Wood’s Under-23s will begin the campaign against West Bromwich Albion on Friday 9 August, at Kidderminster Harrier’s Aggborough Stadium. A week later, the Reds will host Reading in our first home game of the season, entry is again free for all spectators at Leigh Sports Village.

The opening month also includes a trip to St James' Park, scene of the best performance of the Premier League 2 season last term, to face Newcastle United and an Old Trafford occasion to savour against West Ham United.

Ethan Laird takes on a Swindon defender.
Ethan Laird in action during the pre-season friendly against Swindon Town.

As for the EFL Trophy, a competition United will compete in for the first time in during 2019/20, the dates for all three fixtures have also been announced.

Wood’s youngsters will travel to Rotherham United on Tuesday 6 August, before facing Lincoln City on 27 August and Doncaster Rovers on 29 October. The latter two fixtures could be moved however, depending on either League One side’s progress in the Carabao Cup. 

UNDER-23S FIXTURES:

Tuesday 6 August - Rotherham United (A), New York Stadium (EFL Trophy)
Friday 9 August - West Bromwich Albion (A), Aggborough Stadium
Friday 16 August - Reading (H), Leigh Sports Village
Friday 23 August - Newcastle United (A), St James’ Park
Tuesday 27 August - Lincoln City (A), Sincil Bank (EFL Trophy k/o TBC
Friday 30 August - West Ham United (H), Old Trafford
Friday 13 September - Fulham (H), Venue TBC
Monday 23 September - Aston Villa (A), Banks’s Stadium
Friday 27 September - Norwich City (H), Venue TBC
Monday 21 October- Swansea City (A), Landore Training Centre

Under-23s boss Neil Wood.
Former Reds Reserves captain Neil Wood is the new Under-23s lead coach.
Friday 25 October - Stoke City (H), Leigh Sports Village
Tuesday 29 October -Doncaster Rovers (A), Keepmoat Stadium (EFL Trophy) 19:45
Monday 4 November - Middlesbrough (A), Riverside Stadium
Friday 22 November - Sunderland (H), Old Trafford
Friday 6 December - West Bromwich Albion (H), Leigh Sports Village
Monday 16 December - Reading (A), Madejski Stadium
Monday 6 January - West Ham United (A), (London Borough of Barking & Dagenham Stadium)
Quinton Fortune and the Under-23s in Austria.
The Under-23s hard at work during the training camp in Austria.

Friday 10 January - Newcastle United (H), Leigh Sports Village
Friday 31 January - Norwich City (A), Colney Training Centre
Friday 14 February - Swansea City (H), Leigh Sports Village
Monday 2 March - Stoke City (A), Harrison Park
Monday 16 March - Middlesbrough (H), Leigh Sports Village
Monday 6 April - Sunderland (A), Stadium of Light
Friday 17 April - Fulham (A), Craven Cottage
Friday 1 May - Aston Villa (H), Old Trafford

* Date and time of all games subject to change. Matches kick off at 19:00 unless otherwise stated.

Reading this in our app? If not, you might miss some exclusive features not found on ManUtd.com. Download the Official App here.

Recommended: