Ins and outs: United Women’s summer 2023 transfers

Friday 15 September 2023 15:14

This round-up will keep you across Manchester United Women’s transfer business in the 2023 summer window.

The Reds are set to enter the new term off the back of a historic previous campaign, in which Marc Skinner’s side recorded a club-best second-place finish in the Women’s Super League and reached the Vitality Women’s FA Cup final.

Having secured a top-three spot in the WSL, United will compete in the UEFA Women’s Champions League for the first time in the forthcoming season, and reinforcements have been added to the squad prior to that.

Wales international Gemma Evans joined the Reds in July following the expiration of her contract with Reading, while former Barcelona forward Geyse Da Silva Ferreira and young midfielder Emma Watson completed permanent moves here in August. Hinata Miyazawa , the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup Golden Boot winner, made Manchester her new home in September, transferring from Japanese side Mynavi Sendai.

Former Aston Villa defender Evie Rabjohn is now formally registered as a United player, after the announcement that she had agreed to join the club back in May.

The Reds were equally as busy on transfer deadline day, with Spanish World Cup winner Irene Guerrero first through the door, arriving from Atletico Madrid.

Defender Gabby George then sealed a return to Manchester following her time with Everton, while goalkeeper Phallon Tullis-Joyce made the switch to M16 from NWSL club OL Reign.

Finally, forward Melvine Malard joined the Reds from Lyon on a loan deal.

United sign Hinata Miyazawa


The Japan international joins United fresh from winning the adidas Golden Boot at the FIFA Women's World Cup.

As far as permanent outgoings are concerned, full-back Ona Batlle has returned to former club FC Barcelona, and fellow defender Maria Thorisdottir has moved on to Brighton & Hove Albion. England striker Alessia Russo signed for Arsenal at the end of her contract with United.

Tara Bourne, Jade Moore, Emily Ramsey and Aissatou Tounkara have all bid farewell too, while January loan signing Estelle Cascarino has gone back to her parent club Paris Saint-Germain, following her temporary spell as a Red.

Winger Kirsty Hanson has made a permanent move to Aston Villa, having spent the 2022/23 on loan with the Midlands outfit. Young Red Carrie Jones has transferred to Bristol City, while Niamh Murphy and Chloe Williams have both joined Blackburn Rovers.

Keira Barry and Grace Clinton will spend the 2023/24 campaign gaining experience with loan clubs in the capital, heading to Crystal Palace and Tottenham Hotspur respectively.

Adriana Leon also departed for Aston Villa, while midfielder Vilde Boe Risa ended her two-year association with the Reds, departing for Liga F side Atletico Madrid on a permanent deal.

Ivana Ferreira Fuso joined Women's Championship outfit Birmingham City, with fellow forward Martha Thomas departing for Tottenham Hotspur.

Jess Simpson will spend the 2023/24 on loan with fellow Women's Super League side Bristol City and goalkeeper Sophie Baggaley made a permanent switch to Brighton & Hove Albion. Teenager Alyssa Aherne has joined Everton on loan for the remainder of the campaign.


Gemma Evans - Reading
Geyse Da Silva Ferreira - FC Barcelona
Gabby George - Everton
Irene Guerrero - Atletico Madrid
Melvine Malard - Olympique Lyonnais
Hinata Miyazawa - Mynavi Sendai
Evie Rabjohn - Aston Villa
Phallon Tullis-Joyce - OL Reign
Emma Watson - Rangers


Sophie Baggaley - Brighton & Hove Albion
Ona Batlle - FC Barcelona
Vilde Boe Risa - Atletico de Madrid
Tara Bourne - Sheffield United
Estelle Cascarino - Paris Saint-Germain
Ivana Ferreira Fuso - Birmingham City
Kirsty Hanson - Aston Villa
Carrie Jones - Bristol City
Adriana Leon - Aston Villa
Jade Moore - TBC
Niamh Murphy - Blackburn Rovers
Emily Ramsey - Everton
Alessia Russo - Arsenal
Martha Thomas - Tottenham Hotspur
Maria Thorsidottir - Brighton & Hove Albion
Aissatou Tounkara - Paris Saint-Germain
Chloe Williams - Blackburn Rovers


Alyssa Aherne - Everton
Keira Barry - Crystal Palace
Grace Clinton - Tottenham Hotspur
Bella Reidford - Burnley (dual registration)
Jess Simpson - Bristol City