Rashford on shortlist for annual award

Tuesday 16 May 2023 14:00

Manchester United's Marcus Rashford has been named on a six-man shortlist for the PFA Fans' Player of the Year award for 2022/23.

Our leading goalscorer is in the frame for the fan-voted honour after being recognised for his efforts in the Premier League this term, bagging 16 goals from 31 starts, plus another two appearances off the bench, and providing a major threat to defences with his pace and finishing ability.

Although he missed the 2-0 win over Wolverhampton Wanderers last weekend, hopefully the England international will be able to add to his goal tally and continue to impress, with three league games remaining for the Reds - away to Bournemouth on Saturday and then at home to Chelsea and Fulham next week.

Marcus collected the monthly award from the PFA in February and has been a vital component of the side throughout Erik ten Hag's first season in charge.

Watch Marcus Rashford's most recent Premier League goal, which came at Spurs.

Fans are being urged to vote here, with the poll closing on Sunday 28 May at 23:59 BST.

United's no.10 is up against five other stellar performers from across the top-flight campaign. Two represent champions-elect Manchester City - the league's leading marksman Erling Haaland and midfielder Kevin De Bruyne.

Second-placed Arsenal also have a pair of players on the shortlist in captain Martin Odegaard and England winger Bukayo Saka.

The final contender is Tottenham talisman Harry Kane, who netted his 27th goal of the Premier League season in the weekend defeat to Aston Villa.


Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
Erling Haaland (Manchester City)
Harry Kane (Tottenham)
Martin Odegaard (Arsenal)
Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

You can vote here, until the closing date of Sunday 28 May at 23:59 BST.

Wayne Rooney was the last United winner of the award, back in 2010.


2021/22: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
2020/21: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
2019'20: Sadio Mane (Liverpool)
2018/19: Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
2017/18: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
2016/17: Harry Kane (Tottenham)
2015/16: Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City)
2014/15: Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal)