Marcus Rashford wins Players' Player of the Year

Monday 29 May 2023 20:09

Marcus Rashford has been named the Manchester United Players' Player of the Year for the 2022/23 season.

Voted for by his team-mates, Marcus has enjoyed a stellar season in front of goal, having found the net a whopping 30 times so far.

Having also laid on eleven assists in all competitions, Rashford's has been in scintillating form in Erik ten Hag's first season in charge.

This year is the 18th since the award's inception, and it's the first time our no.10 has scooped the prize - testament to his endeavours for the Reds.

Rashford reaches 30 goals for the season


Marcus Rashford joined an exclusive United club with his effort against Chelsea.

Of Marcus's display's this season, his performance in the Nou Camp against Barcelona particularly stands out.

Scoring a wonderful solo goal in which he burst through the Catalan backline to smash past Marc-Andre ter Stegen, the England international also magically set-up our second on the night before Jules Kounde put the ball into his own net.

That 2-2 result would provide a springboard for the Reds, as we went onto to eliminate Xavi's side in the play-off stage of the Europa League at Old Trafford, in a brilliant 2-1 win.
Add that to his star-studded display against the Gunners earlier in the season, United triumphed 3-1 with Rashford scoring two and grabbing a vital assist for Antony too.

Having already won the Carabao Cup and qualified for the Champions League next season, the Reds are chasing further silverware in our all-Manchester Emirates FA Cup final on 3 June to round off the 2022/23 campaign.

Rashford's team-mates Luke Shaw and David De Gea won the Players' Player of the Year award in 2021 and 2022 respectively, and our no.10 is the latest to claim the accolade.

Congratulations on your success, Marcus!

Ten Hag speaks at United's Awards evening


Erik's speech opened our awards evening and he said 'resilient' players are headed in the right direction.

Players’ Player of the Year: The winners

2005/06: Ryan Giggs
2006/07: Cristiano Ronaldo
2007/08: Cristiano Ronaldo
2008/09: Nemanja Vidic
2009/10: Wayne Rooney
2010/11: Nani
2011/12: Antonio Valencia
2012/13: Michael Carrick
2013/14: David De Gea
2014/15: David De Gea
2015/16: Chris Smalling
2016/17: Antonio Valencia
2017/18: David De Gea
2018/19: Luke Shaw
2019/20: Anthony Martial
2020/21: Luke Shaw
2021/22: David De Gea
2022/23: Marcus Rashford