Schmeichel and Scholes join Hall of Fame

Thursday 21 April 2022 08:00

Legendary Manchester United duo Peter Schmeichel and Paul Scholes are the latest former Reds to be inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

Launched last year, the Hall of Fame recognises and honours retired players who have significantly contributed to the league since its inception in 1992 and have experienced great success on the pitch. It is the highest individual honour awarded to players by the Premier League. 

Schmeichel and Scholes join fellow legendary Reds Eric Cantona, Roy Keane, David Beckham and Wayne Rooney in the Hall of Fame.

The pair played together in the team that dominated the Premier League during the 1990s, a spell of success which reached its zenith with the Treble-winning campaign of 1998-99.

Top 10: Scholes goals Video

Top 10: Scholes goals

Happy birthday to Paul Scholes, who scored some screamers down the years. Here are his top 10...

Goalkeeper Schmeichel made 398 appearances for the Reds between 1991 and 1999.

Joining the club from Danish side Brondby for just £505,000 in 1991, Schmeichel went on to become arguably the world’s best keeper, winning five Premier League titles, three FA Cups, one League Cup and a Champions League in his time at United.

Peter, who also won the European Championship with Denmark in 1992, retired in 2003 after further Premier League stints with Aston Villa and Manchester City, but his time at Old Trafford will be looked upon as the era in which he established himself as one of the most revered goalkeepers of all time.

He becomes the first player in his position to be included in the Hall of Fame.

Schmeichel's top 10 saves for United Video

Schmeichel's top 10 saves for United

Watch Peter Schmeichel's top 10 saves for United to see why we called him the Great Dane...

Scholes, a Class of '92 graduate, made exactly 500 top-flight appearances for United between 1993 and 2013, having risen through the youth ranks at the club along with fellow United legends Beckham, Gary Neville, Phil Neville, Ryan Giggs and Nicky Butt.

The 66-time England international announced his retirement in 2011, after 10 Premier League title wins with the Reds, but came out of retirement six months later and added a further triumph prior to hanging up his boots for good in 2013.

Seen as a complete midfielder and one of the best United players of all-time, Scholes began his career as a goalscorer and is one of only 32 players to notch a century of strikes in the top-flight since 1992.

Paul moved into more of a holding position as he advanced in years and was the passing fulcrum in Sir Alex's last great United side, which reached three out of four Champions League finals between 2008 and 2011.

Which United legend deserves your vote?


An incredible 12 Reds are on the 25-man shortlist for this year's Premier League Hall of Fame intake.

Scholes and Schmeichel featured on a 25-man shortlist alongside 10 other Reds legends - including Nemanja Vidic, Rio Ferdinand and Edwin van der Sar - and the duo have been inducted following an online public vote and judgment from the Premier League Awards Panel.

Read more about our other Hall-of-Fame inductees below.