Vote for 2019/20 Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year

Friday 28 August 2020 08:45

Manchester United fans can now vote for their 2019/20 Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year, following a season in which the Reds made encouraging progress under Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.

A third-place finish in the Premier League was a clear improvement on sixth from 2018/19 and, crucially, that outcome secured automatic qualification to next term’s UEFA Champions League group stage.  

Solskjaer’s men actually earned the same amount of points as last season (66), but impressively conceded 18 goals fewer and scored one more, inspiring a belief in the squad that further steps can be taken in 2020/21.

Trophies are of course the priority at United and the Reds came close to lifting silverware in all three cup competitions, after reaching the League Cup, Emirates FA Cup and UEFA Europa League semi-finals. The challenge for our young squad is to translate those frustrating near-misses into invaluable lessons. 

So, who was your outstanding player from the 2019/20 season? 

The poll to crown our Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year is officially open and supporters are able to choose from a list of 27 nominees, in what is arguably the most competitive and hard-to-predict vote in years. 

What are you waiting for? Make sure you register your all-important vote now.

Before departing for their summer breaks earlier this month, the Reds all registered their votes in a confidential ballot to name our 2019/20 Players’ Player of the Year. 

Aside from winning the prestigious fans’ award, named after Sir Matt Busby, this prize is the biggest honour on offer to the squad and it will be fascinating to see who takes home the trophy.

Luke Shaw was recognised by both the supporters and his team-mates during the last campaign, which the left-back described as one of the biggest honours of his career so far.


Our United Women Player of the Year award will be chosen by the players themselves, as per the wishes of manager Casey Stoney - which was also the case for last season's inaugural prize.

In a change to last season, Under-23s manager Neil Wood will pick the Denzil Haroun Reserve Team Player of the Year and Under-18s boss Neil Ryan is also set to select the Jimmy Murphy Youth Team Player of the Year. 

In the past, a public vote between three players has taken place. 


The poll to name our best goal from 2019/20 is also now open and there are 10 outstanding candidates to choose from, with eight different first-team players in the running. 

Check out the long list of nominees and then watch them in the video below…

Daniel James v Southampton (A)
Scott McTominay v Arsenal (H)
Marcus Rashford v Chelsea (A) (CC)
Harry Maguire v Tranmere Rovers (A) (FAC)
Anthony Martial v Watford (H)
Anthony Martial v Manchester City (H)
Odion Ighalo v LASK (A) (UEL)
Anthony Martial (3) v Sheffield United (H)
Bruno Fernandes v Brighton & Hove Albion (A)
Mason Greenwood (2) v AFC Bournemouth (H)

Our Goal of the Season shortlist begins with a Daniel James strike at Southampton back in August.


Due to the coronavirus and ongoing precautions surrounding the pandemic, the club’s annual awards night at Old Trafford will not take place this year.

However, the historic prizes will still be presented to the players in early September and further details will be released in due course. 

Vote now for your Player of the Year and Goal of the Season.