Premier League awards: Five Reds nominated

Tuesday 01 June 2021 14:00

Manchester United have an interest in all four categories of the Premier League's end-of-season awards for 2020/21.

The shortlists for each of the fan-voted prizes were revealed today (Tuesday), just over a week after the top-flight campaign was brought to a close.

Read on to find out more, and how you can lend your support to our men...


Eight players have been nominated in total, including United’s Portuguese playmaker Bruno Fernandes.

Goal of the Day: Fernandes v Newcastle Video

Goal of the Day: Fernandes v Newcastle

This Bruno Fernandes counter-attacking goal at St James’ Park was just classic Man United…

In his first full campaign with the Reds, the 26-year-old notched 18 Premier League goals, which was more than any other midfielder. He also registered 12 assists to play an integral part in us securing a second-placed finish.

Bruno is up against Ruben Dias, Kevin De Bruyne (both Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool) and Tomas Soucek (West Ham). Public votes will be combined with those of 20 club captains and a panel of football experts to decide the winner.

Vote for Fernandes here.


Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is one of five names bidding to succeed Jurgen Klopp as the Premier League's top coach. The Norwegian oversaw an improved campaign for United, with our final tally of 74 points being eight points up on each of the previous two seasons.

Pep Guardiola, Marcelo Bielsa, David Moyes and Brendan Rodgers have also been nominated.

Vote for Solskjaer here.

Ole has been nominated for the PL Manager of the Season award for the first time.


United have three nominees in this category, which consists of all nine monthly winners. Fernandes's strike against Everton at Old Trafford is therefore included, as is Edinson Cavani's recent 40-yard lob versus Fulham, on the day supporters returned to the Theatre of Dreams. Jesse Lingard is in the list too, as a West Ham player, for his stunning individual goal against Wolves.

The remainder of the shortlist features efforts by James Maddison (Leicester), Manuel Lanzini (West Ham), Ola Aina (Fulham), Sebastien Haller (West Ham), Salah (Liverpool) and Erik Lamela (Tottenham).

Vote for Cavani or Fernandes here.

Cavani wins Premier League Goal of the Month


We bet you can figure out which of Edi's two strikes won the final award of the 2020/21 season.


This award, which was inaugurated last term when Trent-Alexander Arnold won, is given to the outstanding player aged 23 or younger in the Premier League. Marcus Rashford, who still qualifies having celebrated his 23rd birthday in October, registered the most goal involvements of any of the nominees, with 20 across his 37 top-flight appearances.

Rashford will compete with Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Dias (Manchester City), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Illan Meslier (Leeds), Mount (Chelsea), Declan Rice (West Ham) and Bukayo Saka (Arsenal).

Vote for Rashford here.

The polls for all the above awards will close at 18:00 BST this Thursday, 3 June, with the winners being announced on Saturday.