Mason Greenwood and Marcus Rashford.

Six Reds included in provisional England squad

Tuesday 25 May 2021 13:00

England coach Gareth Southgate has selected a provisional 33-man squad ahead of the European Championship.

A training camp in Middlesbrough will include friendlies against Austria and Romania early next month but players from United, Manchester City and Chelsea will have been involved in the European finals.

Consequently, Southgate, who is dealing with some injury concerns, has decided to name a larger squad before submitting the final 26-man group for Euro 2020 on Tuesday 1 June.

Euro 2020: Which Reds will be involved?


See which United players have so far been named in their nations' squads for the upcoming European Championships.

Harry Maguire is one of six Reds included even though the centre-back is still carrying an ankle injury that could rule him out of the Europa League final against Villarreal.

Dean Henderson continues to be rewarded for his impressive season, while Luke Shaw was recalled last time out by his country and will look to compete with Chelsea's Ben Chilwell for the left-back slot.

Jesse Lingard, fresh from a superb loan spell at West Ham United, is out to make a similar impact to the one he enjoyed at the last major tournament, the 2018 World Cup finals, when he helped the team reach the semi-finals.

Forwards Marcus Rashford and Mason Greenwood are also on the list after their incisive attacking play this term. Rashford is a regular for his country while Greenwood only has 12 minutes of senior international football under his belt, gained in Iceland last year.

However, the 19-year-old's recent form has proved impossible to ignore and he is also in the group announced by Southgate on Tuesday.

How we reached the Europa League final Video

How we reached the Europa League final

Retrace the steps along the road to Wednesday's big game in Gdansk...


Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson, Sam Johnstone, Jordan Pickford, Aaron Ramsdale.

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Ben Chilwell, Conor Coady, Ben Godfrey, Reece James, Harry Maguire, Tyrone Mings, Luke Shaw, John Stones, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker, Ben White.

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham, Jordan Henderson, Jesse Lingard, Mason Mount, Kalvin Phillips, Declan Rice, James Ward-Prowse.

Forwards: Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Phil Foden, Jack Grealish, Mason Greenwood, Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford, Bukayo Saka, Jadon Sancho, Raheem Sterling, Ollie Watkins.