Players' Player of the Year: Who'll win it?

Saturday 15 May 2021 11:40

It is always difficult to predict who will win Manchester United's Players' Player of the Year award.

There is no doubting it is a great achievement to earn an accolade decided by your team-mates and this shows the huge level of respect the victor is afforded by those around him in the dressing room.

We will find out next week who has come out on top in 2020/21 as United look to end a positive season on a high, hopefully with some silverware after the Europa League final against Villarreal on 26 May.

Bailly: My Player of the Year would be...


Our Ivorian centre-back answers the question we're now asking you, the fans, to vote on.

Anthony Martial was last term's winner after scoring 17 goals in the Premier League and netting four times during the run to the Europa League semi-finals during a season interrupted by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The France international is currently injured but hopes to return before 2020/21 is out.

Since the players' award was first dished out in 2005/06, there have been nine occasions where the winner has made it a double by also lifting the Sir Matt Busby trophy, which is decided by supporters' votes.

David De Gea has landed both accolades in three different seasons, while Cristiano Ronaldo achieved the feat in 2006/07 and 2007/08. Luke Shaw was the last dual winner a couple of years ago and is an obvious contender again this term.

Bruno Fernandes won the fan-voted prize in 2019/20 and is another who should be in the running for the players' award but Eric Bailly may have provided some insight into the squad's thinking when suggesting recently his vote could be going to Aaron Wan-Bissaka or Shaw.

Influential skipper Harry Maguire could also prove popular and it will be intriguing to find out who gets the nod when the victor is revealed.


2005/06: Ryan Giggs
2006/07: Cristiano Ronaldo
2007/08: Cristiano Ronaldo
2008/09: Nemanja Vidic
2009/10: Wayne Rooney
2010/11: Nani
2011/12: Antonio Valencia
2012/13: Michael Carrick
2013/14: David De Gea
2014/15: David De Gea
2015/16: Chris Smalling
2016/17: Antonio Valencia
2017/18: David De Gea
2018/19: Luke Shaw
2019/20: Anthony Martial
2020/21:To be announced next week