United Briefing: Bruno proud to win Sir Matt award

Wednesday 19 May 2021 08:00

Manchester United midfielder Bruno Fernandes was immensely proud to be awarded the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award for the second consecutive season.

Our Portuguese magnifico has had an immense season for Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's improving United side. Bruno's back-heel flick for Edinson Cavani's dream goal against Fulham on Tuesday evening was his 46th goal involvement (28 goals, 18 assists) in 57 appearances this term. 

Following another stellar campaign for the Reds, the 26-year-old has been voted by our supporters as Sir Matt Busby Player of the Season for the second successive campaign, something that has only been done by David De Gea among the current United squad. In fact, with over 60 per cent of the votes, our no. 18 won by a clear margin ahead of Luke Shaw, who won the Players' Player of the Year award, and Tuesday night's goalscorer, Cavani. 

90 in 20: United 1 Fulham 1 Video

90 in 20: United 1 Fulham 1

The extended highlights of our final home game of the season are available to watch now...

Speaking to MUTV after our 1-1 draw with Fulham on Tuesday evening, Bruno caught up with our reporter Stewart Gardner to react to winning the award.

A lot, he answered, when asked what winning the prestigious prize means to him.

I always said that individual trophies are really good for players, the award winner said in his post-match interview. It lifts you up, I would never say I don’t want individual trophies, but it’s not more important than a team trophy for me. But it’s always important.

You’re doing something well, you’re doing something good, doing the right things means you can do a little bit more, improve a little bit more. But, at the same time it means that the people are liking you, like the way you play, the way you trying to help the team, the way you do things, so that’s very important for me.

But more important than that is winning a trophy at the end of the season and this is what it’s about because football is a team sport and for me it’s about winning trophies.

He was then asked if he has a big trophy cabinet at home and our Portuguese star could not help himself from providing a clever and cheeky reply.

Don’t worry, I’ll get a big one if it’s needed, he said with a smile on his face.

Bruno: That’s what Edi can do Video

Bruno: That’s what Edi can do

After the game, Fernandes was asked about ‘that’ Cavani goal, plus fans returning and the Europa League final…


We will deliver you further reaction, videos and features from Tuesday evening's Premier League clash with Fulham, so keep your eyes on ManUtd.com and our Official App. As well, our Media Watch article will keep you updated on what the press is writing about United, plus you can expect a Tunnel Insider podcast from the 1-1 draw with the Cottagers. 

Wednesday marks 14 years since Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's last appearance as a United player. It's also eight years since Sir Alex Ferguson's final match in charge of the Reds: the incredible 5-5 draw with West Bromwich Albion at The Hawthorns, in which Paul Scholes also bowed out. 

Diego Forlan celebrates his 42nd birthday and the club would like to send best wishes to our former Uruguayan striker. Happy birthday, Diego!

Your Goal of the Season winner is...


Bruno came out on top in our latest fan-voted annual award - but which strike earned him the trophy?


United drew 1-1 with Fulham in the Premier League in what was our final home match of the season. We provided you with a match report, our talking points article and rounded up Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's and Bruno's reaction, and also revealed your Man of the Match. In addition to our match gallery, we created a gallery featuring pictures of fans to mark the return of 10,000 supporters at the Theatre of Dreams. 

Ahead of kick-off, Bruno was presented with his Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year and Goal of the Season awards, meanwhile Luke Shaw posed with his Players' Player of the Year prize.

In other news, club legends Eric Cantona and Roy Keane were the third and fourth inductees, respectively, to the Premier League Hall of Fame, following Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry.