United's Young Player of the Year winners

Thursday 16 May 2024 06:00

Manchester United's Young Player of the Year award was judged by supporters in the early 1980s, with outstanding youth-team products Norman Whiteside and Mark Hughes the early winners.

It changed to the Denzil Haroun award in 1985/86 but, when Denzil's name switched to the Reserve Team Player of the Year prize five years later, the nineties ushered in the Jimmy Murphy Young Player of the Year that is still presented today.

Murphy, of course, played a huge role in the history of United as Sir Matt Busby's assistant, who took over the reins following the Munich Air Disaster.

“No one outside the club will ever know how important he was to our success,” commented Busby.

Marcus Rashford receives the award in 2016.

Hughes lifted the trophy two years in succession, a feat later matched by Ryan Giggs and Wes Brown, while Lee Martin is also a two-time winner.

Gary Walsh is the only goalkeeper to get the award and Bojan Djordjic was the first overseas recipient.

Angel Gomes became the youngest-ever winner in 2017, while Ethan Wheatley is the current holder.

The last 11 claimants have all played at least one game for United's first team, with Kobbie Mainoo, Alejandro Garnacho and Marcus Rashford in the current squad.

Supporters' Club Young Player of the Year

1982/83: Norman Whiteside
1983/84: Mark Hughes
1984/85: Mark Hughes

Denzil Haroun Young Player of the Year

1985/86: Simon Ratcliffe
1986/87: Gary Walsh
1987/88: Lee Martin
1988/89: Mark Robins

Mainoo wins Young Player of the Year


Kobbie has added his name to a prestigious club award, presented in honour of the late, great Jimmy Murphy.

Jimmy Murphy Young Player of the Year

1989/90: Lee Martin
1990/91: Ryan Giggs
1991/92: Ryan Giggs
1992/93: Paul Scholes
1993/94: Phil Neville
1994/95: Terry Cooke
1995/96: Ronnie Wallwork
1996/97: John Curtis
1997/98: Wes Brown
1998/99: Wes Brown
1999/00: Bojan Djordjic
2000/01: Alan Tate
2001/02: Paul Tierney
2002/03: Ben Collett
2003/04: Jonathan Spector
2004/05: Giuseppe Rossi

Why Murphy's role must be recognised


On the 30th anniversary of his death, Jimmy Murphy's legacy should never be forgotten.

2005/06: Darron Gibson
2006/07: Craig Cathcart
2007/08: Danny Welbeck
2008/09: Federico Macheda
2009/10: Will Keane
2010/11: Ryan Tunnicliffe
2011/12: Mats Daehli
2012/13: Ben Pearson
2013/14: James Wilson
2014/15: Axel Tuanzebe
2015/16: Marcus Rashford
2016/17: Angel Gomes
2017/18: Tahith Chong
2018/19: Mason Greenwood
2019/20: Anthony Elanga
2020/21: Shola Shoretire
2021/22: Alejandro Garnacho
2022/23: Kobbie Mainoo
2023/24: Ethan Wheatley