Ten Hag makes 11 changes for Dortmund clash

Monday 31 July 2023 00:50

Erik ten Hag has named his Manchester United side to face Borussia Dortmund in the final game of Tour 2023, with the 02:00 BST kick-off live on MUTV.

The boss has rung the changes for the game at the Allegiant Stadium, with a completely different starting XI to the one that faced Real Madrid in Houston on Thursday.

Our 19-year-old midfielder Omari Forson, who was an unused substitute against Real, gets a chance to impress and Jadon Sancho looks set to occupy the false nine position against his former club.

There’s plenty of experience in both defence and midfield, with Victor Lindelof partnering Harry Maguire at the back, behind captain Scott McTominay and Christian Eriksen.

Summer signing Andre Onana is among the substitutes but could well make his second appearance in red later in the game, if Ten Hag’s squad rotation so far on tour is anything to go by.  

Youngsters Alvaro Fernandez, Dan Gore, Hannibal and Joe Hugill will also be hoping for some game time off the bench as we bid farewell to the USA for another year.

Former United loanee Marcel Sabitzer is in the starting line-up for our opponents as he plays in midfield along with another familiar face in ex-Liverpool man Emre Can.

Ten Hag told us before kick-off: "It's a great stadium, we have played good opposition and so it’s a good game.

"We have got to go to our levels and that’s what we need because in two weeks we start the league. Every game you use to get into the next step. We want to raise the bar this season, we have a way to go so also for this game, you expect a next step."

Why three Reds missed Vegas game


Amad, Alejandro Garnacho and Raphael Varane were all absent from the squad to face Borussia Dortmund.


United: Heaton; Dalot, Lindelof, Maguire, Williams; Eriksen, McTominay (c); Pellistri, Van de Beek, Forson; Sancho.

Substitutes: Onana, Martinez, Mount, Fernandes, Rashford, Casemiro, Antony, Shaw, Evans, Bishop, Wan-Bissaka, Fernandez, Gore, Hannibal, Hugill.

Borussia Dortmund: Kobel, Ryerson, Sule, Hummels, Wolf, Emre Can, Sabitzer, Brandt, Adeyemi, Malen, Haller.

Substitutes: Meyer, Lotka, Kirsch, Papadopoulos, Blank, Bensebaini, Meunier, Bueno, Ozcan, Pohlmann, Reus, Hazard, Bamba, Moukoko, Besong.